Voltron Legendary Defender Miniatures

Image result for voltron legendary defender logo

 

It’s been a while since my last post but I haven’t been dormant in my hobbying. I thought I’d share my latest project, a small scale conversion to represent the main characters from the latest iteration of Voltron – Netflix’s Voltron: Legendary Defender. The show has been on for a few years (and an impressive 8 seasons, though some are shorter than others), but since I saw the first episodes, I’ve wanted to convert some minis to represent the Paladins. I liked the original series from my childhood as much as the next 80s kid, but this latest version really knocked it out of the park, and the idea of a strike team of Paladins carrying out missions on the tabletop really appealed to me.

I had planned to use these in 7TV, but the project sat on the backburner for a while as I could never quite settle on the best way to approach them in terms of models, especially with such a size difference between characters like Pidge and Hunk, for instance.

I got a bit more motivation recently as I acquired a copy of Mantic’s Star Saga boardgame. It’s a really fun, easy to learn sci-fi dungeon crawler that has rules for custom characters. As I played my first intro game, I realised that this would be the perfect setting for a Voltron team.

So, I set about searching for miniatures again, and settled on a mixture of Mantic Enforcers, Pathfinders, and GCPS heads. I’ve included some notes below on what went into the build.

 

  • Hunk was the most straightforward build, as he was simply an Enforcer with a GCPS headswap. I also filed down his legs a bit to make them a bit more anime in style.
  • The torsos of all of the rest of the characters are Mantic Pathfinders, which were filed a bit to allow room for their chest insignia.
  • The female characters had arms from Pathfinders (with green stuff shoulder pads), while the male characters were standard Enforcer arms.
  • The legs for Keith, Lance, Allura and Shiro were from some spare Dreamforge Eisenkern Stormtroopers I had leftover from my Star Wars Clone army. Again, these were filed down to make them a bit less bulky.
  • Pidge was the trickiest in terms of getting the right height – I used a pair of legs from a Gates of Antares Concord Strike Trooper, which I cut off at the hips and the knees and removed some height from the legs.
  • Allura’s energy whip was a piece of thin plastic rod shaped and glued into position.
  • Keith’s shield was made from 2 tokens from the Gates of Antares template set glued together.
  • The bases are from Sedition Wars.

Of course, I couldn’t leave it there. I had to create some custom cards to represent the team in Star Saga, so here are the results.

 

Overall, I’m pretty happy with how they’ve turned out and it’s a great feeling to finally have something tangible in hand after the idea’s inception 3 years ago. Star Saga has also motivated me to do some work on a Mass Effect team as well, so expect a post about that in the near future.

Happy Gaming!

Leave a comment