Super Mission Force 1

So as my first official post, I thought I would share what I have been working on recently. I have been on a bit of a superhero kick (going on 30 years now, but that’s another conversation). I used to play Heroclix a fair amount back in the day, starting with Infinity Challenge and Hypertime back in the early-2000s, and then playing fairly competitively circa 2010. I was lucky enough to compete in the 2010 World Championships at GenCon, which was an awesome experience.

Being a hobbyist first and foremost, I’ve always seen Heroclix as a wasted opportunity as the factory paintjobs range from middling to godawful. So, I took it upon myself to do a lot of repaints of my favourite characters and even went so far as to convert models for comic series I enjoyed that didn’t have a lot of Heroclix figures for (like Image’s Invincible). I found this a nice break from the rank and file painting that I was doing for games like 40k, but the competitive nature of Heroclix meant that there was always a newer version of the characters that I had lovingly converted and painted, so my enjoyment of the game waned somewhat as I just couldn’t keep up.

 

Flash forward to 2017 and I have been able to give my repainted figures a new lease on life with the release of a game called Super Mission Force from Four Color Studios (the creators of the acclaimed Supersystem series). SMF was originally touted as a kind of “Supersystem-Lite” and that is true to an extent, particularly when it comes to character creation. I’ve been so impressed with the game that I have dug out my old Heroclix and started adding minis to teams that I’ve always wanted to represent on the tabletop. I’ve added to my collection with some recent paintjobs below. Soon to come will be  some more X-Men, followed by the Fantastic Four and possibly the Avengers. I’ve elected to base the new minis on clear bases as this allows me to use them on a variety of terrain and if I ever want to use them in games of Heroclix again, they can sit on top of a standard dial.

I’ll talk more about character creation and other elements of the game in future posts, and keep you updated with more Heroclix repaints as they’re completed.

 

Leave a comment